Notes From a First Time Front Yard Farmer: The Geese are Coming!

I am so excited!  After raising chickens and ducks for little over a year, my son and I have managed to convince my husband we should get geese.  Due to geese having reputation for being ornery, Dave has been very reluctant.  But, after a dog killed all of our ducks this fall, except for one (that’s a whole other story), it was agreed we should give geese a go.  I know geese won’t keep dogs, or foxes, out, but they will raise the alarm that predators are around.  We are also going to get more ducks.

After a bit of research, I decided to get a small order of “fancy” geese.  They will be shipped May 4th.  They are being mailed on Star Wars Day, a great sign!

I know I won’t be getting White Chinese, Embden, Toulouse, French Toulouse, African or Canada goslings.  I could be getting Sebastopol, American Buff, Roman Tufted, or Tufted Buff Geese.  Here are pictures of what are future flock may look like:

TuftedBuffFlock SebastopolAdult romtuff BuffGooseAdult

I have been trying to find a good book on raising geese, and not having much luck.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

