A Valentine Poem to My Husband

A little over 17 years ago I met my husband, and fell instantly in love.  It was one of the few times I didn’t question myself, and I followed him around until he agreed to go to the symphony with me.

After we started dating we would meet each other every morning for coffee and a bagel.  One morning he didn’t show up.  I’ll admit it, I was disappointed.  After classes I walked back to my dorm I found the sweetest card taped my door.  So, here’s a little poem.

A ritual missed
You had overslept
Coffee by myself

A card I remember
I have it still.

Us together
Laughing, holding hands
Peanut Butter Pie and coffee
Kissing

Vows, children
Our life together
Memories strung together
Each one precious

Leave a Reply

