Notes From a First Time Front Yard Farmer: Duck Egg Anyone?

It’s February 18th in Wasilla Alaska.  The sun is shining, the pussy willow’s are popping out, and I’m not sure where the snow has gone.  Frankly, it feels like breakup.  I’m not going to say that too loud though.  Mother Nature does this to us at this time of year, and then she puts the whammy on us in March.

I dropped my kids off at school this morning, and came home to do my morning duck and chicken chores. So the sun is coming up earlier every day.  I was able to fill up their water and feed buckets without a headlamp on today. I opened up the duck house to check on their food, and fill up their water cooler. Since it’s a bit above freezing I thought I would turn their hay.  It’s easier to do when their poop isn’t frozen.  As I was getting ready with the rake, what did I find? A beautiful duck egg. I can’t help but feel joyous. Fleur’s first egg, how cool is that?!! I imagine the brown ducks will probably start laying in a month or two.

Spring may not get here until the end of May, or June, but a duck egg, sunshine, swelling tree buds, and bare grass in the yard make me feel it is on the way.

Fleur's egg is the white one, the brown one is a chicken egg.  As Fleur lays more, her eggs will get a bit bigger.
Fleur’s egg is the white one, the brown one is a chicken egg. As Fleur lays more, her eggs will get a bit bigger.
Fleur is the white Peking duck.  The Ladies are the brown Khaki Campbells. It doesn't really look like February.  They should be standing on a pile of snow.
Fleur is the white Peking duck. The Ladies are the brown Khaki Campbells. It doesn’t really look like February. They should be standing on a pile of snow.
2 thoughts on “Notes From a First Time Front Yard Farmer: Duck Egg Anyone?

Leave a Reply

