Notes From a First Time Front Yard Farmer: Morning Reset

After the initial morning rush of getting my kids up, ready, and out the door to school, my favorite part of the day is to come home and let the chickens and ducks out.  Even on days like today, where the wind is blowing 14-20 mph, I stop to savor my time outside.  The sun is starting to come up when I step out, and even on a gray day, the sunrise is still lovely.  I like not having to wear a head lamp or carry a flash light.

Enjoying the sunrise.
Enjoying the sunrise.

It is just me and the ducks and chickens.  There are no demands for permission slip signatures, no fighting over Legos, no grumbles about work.  The only sounds are the ducks happy quacking and this chuckling sound they make as they eat their morning treat of peas, and hop into their outside water bucket to splash around and get a drink.

The ducks are happy with their breakfast of peas.
The ducks are happy with their breakfast of peas.

The roosters are crowing as I come around the corner to the coop, and the chickens are all lined up along on the fence, waiting to see what I have brought them.  They all run to the door and crowd me as I step into the run.  This morning Petunia jumped up to snatch the first bite of oatmeal as I was emptying the pot out.

They love oatmeal, and this morning I gave them a head of cabbage.
They love oatmeal, and this morning I gave them a head of cabbage.
Olive waited until I brought corn before she came out.  She likes to eat it out of my hand.
Olive waited until I brought corn before she came out. She likes to eat it out of my hand.

I have forgotten about the early morning aggravations. My day has been reset.  I’m smiling again, and ready to start again.

Leave a Reply

