Notes From a First Time Front Yard Farmer – Is it Spring Yet?

I keep feeling like spring is here, even though it is only the beginning of April.  In my mind I am beginning to compile a list of tasks, but I know I can’t really get started on a lot of them until May.  When I went outside Thursday morning to let the ducks out, bring them their water, and frozen peas, it felt so warm I started thinking I could probably hook the water hose back up, and ditch the 5 gallon bucket until September.  Maybe I could even clean out their pond and fill it up for them.  Last year I couldn’t do that until the middle of May, but this winter has been so mild.  Then, I heard the weather report.  It had already snowed 2 inches in Anchorage, they were calling for more, and I was sure Wasilla was next.  Perhaps I shouldn’t get ahead of myself.  I decided it wasn’t quite time to hang up the water bucket.

Wasilla never did get snowed on.  Then, it was my day off, the sun was shining and actually felt warm, and I decided it was time. Time to hang up the water bucket, bust out the shop vac, and drain the pond.  I also determined it was time to get the lead out with the spring cleaning.  My mother in-law will be here soon, and my house needs to be scrubbed top to bottom.  I started thinking about the 21 ducklings and 6 goslings that would be at my house in a few weeks.

While I was filling up the duck pond I thought I would give them a little shower.  The ducks REALLY like it.
While I was filling up the duck pond I thought I would give them a little shower. The ducks REALLY like it.
Filing up the duck pond.  It's pretty warm out for April, but I still had my hat and winter coat on.
Filing up the duck pond. It’s pretty warm out for April, but I still had my hat and winter coat on.
One of the brown ladies braved the cold water and went for a swim.  She looked pretty happy.
One of the brown ladies braved the cold water and went for a swim. She looked pretty happy.
Swimming away!
Swimming away!

I started thinking this was probably not going to go as well as I was imagining.  Raising them all is not an issue.  The problem is that I work two jobs, one of which is really more full time than part time, and I realized that my time, and my husband’s time, is very thin.  So, I cancelled my duck order.  I’m a bit bummed, but I’m still getting goslings, which is exciting.  I also imagine we’ll get a couple of ducklings from the animal swap, and maybe even a couple of chicks.  Baby animals are hard to resist, and they don’t require diapers.

So, I have now revised the list of chores.  My family started the house scrubbing today.  I figure if we do a bit at a time it won’t be so bad.  Today we did the upstairs, and started cleaning up the yard a bit.  Next week we’ll decide on another set of rooms.    With only 6 goslings coming, I can keep them in the front yard with the ducks.  We’re going to redo their fencing, and remake the duck house so it will fit them and some geese.  I’ve been reading up on space requirements, now we just need to draft a plan, nothing too fancy.  My flower bed needs to get cleaned out before things start popping up, and we need to rake the vegetable patch and toss in some compost.  I’m going to look into making our own fodder for the poultry.  They’ll love having sprouted barley to munch on.  I also want to figure out a way to have them roam around the yard, without getting eaten by the fox, or someone’s dog.  The list now feels a bit more manageable.  I know more chores will get tack on as summer moves along, but this is a good starting point.  I figure if we keep the list to small manageable projects, I just might have a few minutes to relax with a cold beer and a book, or I may even pick up my crochet hook and finish a hat.

2 thoughts on “Notes From a First Time Front Yard Farmer – Is it Spring Yet?

  1. Sounds like a good way to keep enjoying what you’re doing. I think I need to do that too as my project list keeps getting longer and the cross-stitch I started 3 years ago is still waiting for me to finish it. Good luck with the clean up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

