Notes From a First Time Front Yard Farmer – I Put Them to Work

Last Friday it finally felt warm outside, and it was beautiful.  I spent my day working, but I finally got to set it down when I went to go pick the kids up from school.  Driving over, I was thinking maybe we could go for a walk, or they could play outside and I could spend a few minutes with a book on the porch.  As soon as I got them, all they could talk about was coming inside and playing video games.  I suggested they play outside for a bit, and they all decided to pitch a fit of one form or another.

“Fine,” I said “chores it is!”

I had been thinking for a week or two it was time to remove the winter muck from the duck house, and rake the old hay out of the chicken coop.  The brooders needed to be found, and thoroughly washed in preparation for the goslings, and the ducklings I hope to get at the animal swap when it starts.  If the kids couldn’t play outside, then they could work.

Surprisingly, my daughter and youngest son were rather enthusiastic about it all.  My oldest son was a bit of pill, but I was expecting that.  He got to man the wheelbarrow and haul the muck down to the compost pile.  I gave my youngest son a rake and had him raking up the stratified layers of hay and duck poop in the duck house.  He raked it to loosen all the stuff up, and I got it out with the pitch for.  My daughter was given rubber gloves, the water hose, and some cleaner so she could scrub out the brooder buckets.  I tackled the chicken coop.  It took a while, but we got it finished.  The first of the spring chores are now knocked off the list.

My daughter cleaning out the brooders.
My daughter cleaning out the brooders.
My oldest son dumping the wheelbarrow full of duck muck out.
My oldest son dumping the wheelbarrow full of duck muck out.
My youngest son raking out the duck house with his bike helmet on.
My youngest son raking out the duck house with his bike helmet on.

I’d like to say the kids have been better about playing outside, but I am still hammering that home.  I think the video game may have to do up in the closet over the summer, or maybe I’ll have to figure out more outside chores for them to do.

3 thoughts on “Notes From a First Time Front Yard Farmer – I Put Them to Work

Leave a Reply

